Milestones

In the past 2 months, Steve and I both hit some major milestones–well, Steve’s is more major than mine.

Steve turned 30. Three Zero. Ancient.

We celebrated with beer tasting with a few friends and I learned that I don’t enjoy party planning. Maybe if I had more time, but 3 hour round trip commute for work sure sucks up a lot of my day.

But Steve was satisfied. He shared his big day with “the blob” of our closest friends. Steve coined the name “blob” because we hung out with the almost the exact same group of people for my birthday. We are very grateful for our friendships.

I was really bad at documenting Steve’s party, but it was really a good idea. I would suggest it for someone looking for a fun, semi-easy party. We picked 6 different beers from light to dark and paired them with appetizer-type food. We still have so much beer left!

Steve very excited for his gift of 30 suckers. The jar is labeled, "30 Sucks!"

Steve very excited for his gift of 30 suckers. The jar is labeled, “30 Sucks!”

We also made our first big purchase together as a couple: we bought Steve a brand new car! Call it what you want, but we prefer to call his “lime zest” colored car, “The bug, the Hulk, Beetlejuice, Kermit, Little Lime,” or any variation of those names. It has really taken a lot of stress from our relationship when we only had one car and our commutes are both over 30 miles in opposite directions. Steve has been great at taking the train and still does, but now I don’t have to drive in the opposite direction from my work to get him to the station. Plus, Steve can now take advantage of having Fridays off. Beach days and snowboard retreats have recently been his Friday rituals.

Christmas came and went. The only significant thing I can think of is that our Christmas tree fell over three days before Christmas, breaking several of my cherished Disney ornaments, and causing us to tear down “Christmas” before it even arrived. It did, however, give me a good excuse to buy more ornaments!

Steve's Birthday, before the tree killed itself

Steve’s Birthday, before the tree killed itself

Then, January came and it was my birthday month! We kicked it off with a last-minute trip to my Uncle’s cabin up near Yosemite (and by near, I merely mean, “closer to Yosemite than here.”) My best friend and her boyfriend joined us, and we took a day trip to try to hike some trails. Little did we know they were all going to be covered in ice! It made it for a fun adventure slipping and sliding–and trying not to crack our skulls open!

BFF

Best Friends for 20 years at Mirror Lake

Leah, Aaron, Steve and I at Bridal Veil Falls

Leah, Aaron, Steve and I at Bridal Veil Falls

IMG_0325

Cold and Icy!

On my actual birthday, Steve and I spent the day at Disneyland with my good friend Jenn from work, then met up with our “blob” of friends at Bubba Gumps! Let me also just take a moment and brag that I impressed our server on my Forrest Gump trivia! They made me “shake my booty” to earn my birthday dessert, and I got to celebrate my 25th birthday with some of the finest people I know. It was a fun a memory.

DSCN2165

California Adventure Backlot

DSCN2168

Bubba Gumps!

DSCN2182

Our blob of excellent people

So we hit some major milestones and have embraced this new chapter. A little older but still having lots of fun. Steve and I often fall asleep after laugh attacks because one of us did/said something stupid. We find ourselves agreeing to stay in more now, but still making plans to take each other out on dates. We spoil each other and we like it! I loved watching Steve unwrap his GoPro camera that my family and I got him for his birthday. Steve loves capturing our surroundings and documenting them for our memories. I am learning to appreciate that, although it is still challenging for me when we get in the car and he has to “set” a million little gadgets! But its worth it! Steve helped me pick out a new bathing suit at a store I remember going into in high school and thinking, “How can anyone afford to shop here!?” I appreciated his honesty and the mere fact that he sat in the dressing room with me for an hour while I tried on a ton of different suits!

And why did I get a new suit? For Hawaii! We leave in a few days to the Big Island! We are excited, neither one of us having been there before. My family is also going and we are looking forward to the many adventures we are sure to have.

Needless to say, Steve and I have a lot of things to be grateful for. We look so forward to celebrating many more milestones together.

** I did not post the hyperlinks to any of these ads! WordPress, what are you doing?!

This entry was posted in Mal's Musings, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Milestones

  1. Chris Stephenson says:

    You two have a wonderful love. Cherish it always! Love you both and happy to say you are my family!!! Don’t ever change your values. They are wonderful just like the two of you.

Leave a Reply

